Minnesota Digital Library - The Minnesota Digital Library (MDL)—professionals from libraries, archives, historical societies and museums across Minnesota—is creating a digital collection of the state's unique resources and special collections.
Minnesota History Center - The Minnesota Historical Society preserves Minnesota's past, shares our state's stories and connects people with history in meaningful ways, for today and for tomorrow.
History Study Center - History Study Center is an online resource providing a vast collection of digitised primary and secondary sources for the study of history. It is suitable for a wide range of users, from high school students looking for quick and reliable facts on a historical topic, to researchers examining hard-to-find primary source texts.
Culture Grams - Contains concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural content.
ELM- Electronic Library for Minnesota - Gives Minnesota residents online access to magazine, journal, newspaper, and encyclopedia articles, eBooks (online books), and other information resources.
ELM provides information on a vast array of topics, including consumer information, arts and humanities, current events, health, science, social science, politics, business, and more.
Encyclopedia Britannica - Online Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia (Grolier) - Online Encyclopedia
American History - From the explorers of the Americas to the issues of today’s headlines, American History investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution.
Magazines (K-8) - Periodical and reference materials collection designed specifically for the Elementary and Middle School student.
Magazines (EBSCO) - The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost. Also provides access to national and regional business news.
MNKnows - MnKnows (or, read it Minnesota Knows, if you'd like) is a portal to Minnesota's online library services, welcoming you to use and explore the various electronic resources listed below. Minnesota's libraries cooperate to connect Minnesotans with the world of information, the content of their collections, and the expertise of their staff members. MnKnows is provided by Minitex, an information and resource sharing program of the Minnesota Office of Higher Education and the University of Minnesota Libraries.
Newspapers (Proquest) - Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Complete full-text coverage of the New York Times, Christian Science Monitor, LA Times from 1851- present, Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.
World News Digest - This is a permanent record of the essential facts of the news as reported in the major newspapers and news magazines of the U.S., Canada, Britain, Australia, and elsewhere in the world.
Issues and Controversies - Contains up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day.
Today's Science - This is a reference database, classroom tool and home learning resource.
Chronicling America - Historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.